News alert

Sign-up for our PMA 2018 news headlines and get notified when new digital cameras are being launched at the 2018 PMA Show in Anaheim, California, USA...

RSS

The latest digital imaging news is also available through our PMA 2018 RSS service. Add the RSS feed to your news feeder and you will receive constantly updated articles on all the PMA 2018 news. To use our RSS service you will need an RSS reader, of which there are many available online.

PMA 2018 RSSPMA 2018 News
PMA 2018 Sitemap by CategorySitemap by Category
PMA 2018 Sitemap by BrandSitemap by Brand

Camera Previews

Camera Reviews

Digital Backs

Digital Cameras

Image Sensors

SLR Cameras

Underwater Housings

News by Category

News by Brand

Brands we like

Sony Alpha A700 Review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Monday 29th, October 2007

The Sony Alpha A700 is equipped with a newly developed 12.2 MP CMOS image sensor and works with a focal length multiplier of 1.5x. The housing consists of a combination of aluminum alloy and polycarbonate and is mostly waterproof and dustproof thanks to extra attention that has been paid to the closure of covers etc. The weight of a tad less than 800 grams (778 grams without lens) is pleasant to work with and makes the camera lie stable in my hand. The beautiful large sized LCD screen on the back of the Sony A700 is definitely breathtaking. This 3-inch high resolution LCD screen surely adds a surplus value to this camera.

Read complete story about Sony Alpha A700

Panasonic Lumix TZ3 Review

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 17th, October 2007

The successor of the Lumix DMC-TZ1, the Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3, was introduced in January 2007. Did the Panasonic TZ1 impress us with its compact size and onboard 10x Leica zoom lens; the Panasonic Lumix TZ3 digital camera even exceeds its predecessor. The resolution went up to 7 Megapixels and even more important, the focal range, although staying the same with its 10x optical zoom, gained a wide angle. As a result, this compactcamera has a fine 28-280mm range, absolutely a good achievement. It means that Panasonic is one of few manufacturers to deliver a digital compact camera with an optical zoom lens that is able to offer wide angle.

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix DMC-TZ3

Ricoh Caplio GX100 review

Posted by: Ilse Jurrien Monday 6th, August 2007

Many photographers dream of a compact digital camera with a fine zoom range, including a true wide-angle, one that gives a high resolution and can also store images in RAW. Until recently this remained just a dream. But fortunately there is the opinionated Ricoh, who seems to make the dream come true. With the DIWA Gold Award rewarded GR Digital, Ricoh already has an exceptional camera with a fine wide-angle and RAW support. The Ricoh Caplio GX100 takes it a step further: more wide-angle, more pixels and an optical zoom including image stabilization. What more can a photographer ask for? We have tested the Ricoh Caplio GX100 in our test lab, to explore if the camera truly lives up to the expectations.

Read complete story about Ricoh Caplio GX100

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18 test photos

Posted by: Mark Peters Tuesday 24th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18 digital Megazoom camera. The Panasonic FZ18 is a camera for the photographer who is into a variety of photographic shooting. Although the camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of photographic settings like P/S/A/M for the more experienced photographer. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FZ18 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ18

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33 Photos

Posted by: Mark Peters Tuesday 24th, July 2007

At the press conference in Dublin I was able to shoot with the new stylish Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33 compact camera. The Panasonic FX33 is a camera for the photographer who appreciates convenience shooting and a stylish design. The camera is easy to handle and incorporates a range of pre-programmed scenes, it is offering a range of intelligent camera features to make digital photography as simple as possible. I took the Panasonic camera with me to the Dublin area and was able to test the new intelligent camera features in combination with the MEGA O.I.S system. I have to remind you that the images of the Panasonic Lumix FX33 are still a pre-production level, not final level!

Read complete story about Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX33

Amsterdam pictures from Casio EX-V7

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 4th, July 2007

We have had the Casio Exilim V7 compact camera at our office for a long time, and we have made a lot of test shots in Amsterdam, among others. The new Casio Exilim EX-V7 was officially introduced at the start of 2007, and has been available quite recently. At the moment the Casio EX-V7 is the only line of Exilim camera with a 7x optical zoom lens. This is also its unique characteristic, as even with the 7x optical zoom, it maintains its slim, compact form. Additionally, the Casio Exilim V7 has a CCD stabiliser system, and a new processor: the Exilim Engine 2.0. Casio is one of the pioneers of the digital camera market and is outstanding for integrating innovative image solutions in its compact cameras.

Read complete story about Amsterdam pictures

Nikon CoolPix railway museum photos

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 4th, July 2007

When testing the Nikon Coolpix P5000 digital compact camera, I took it along when I visited a piece of Dutch railway history, the Railway museum in Utrecht. The Railway museum is located in the Maliebaan station and gives visitors a glimpse of the past. Most of the test pictures were taken inside the railway museum, including a large depot where diverse old trains stand established. The lighting conditions were full of contrast ; darkness between the trains with spots of sunlight from the roof here and there. Although the Nikon Coolpix P5000 compact camera has an optical image stabilizer, I had to use a high ISO regularly to achieve the desired shutter speed or aperture.

Read complete story about Railway museum gallery

Arch National Park Pictures

Posted by: Dennis Hissink Wednesday 4th, July 2007

I have had the Nikon Coolpix S500 digital compact camera at our office for a long time, and I have made a lot of test shots during my visit the Arch National Park in the Unites States. The new Nikon CoolPix S500 digital camera was officially introduced at the start of 2007, just before the opening of the PMA Show in Las Vegas. The Nikon Coolpix S500 offers a resolution of 7.1 effective Megapixels, an advanced in-camera image processing and a 3x optical zoom lens (range of 35-105mm on 35mm camera). The Nikon CoolPix S500 powers up in a quick 0.8 seconds and has a practically imperceptible shutter release time lag of less than 0.005 seconds. Interesting specifications packed in a very compact and solid housing and most of all fully automatic operation.

Read complete story about Arch National Park Pictures

Not that long ago, a large number of manufacturers presented their digital camera line on the PMA show floor. It had already been predicted that there would no longer be room for quite so many, and thus only for a handful of manufacturers. This is partially right, however, the offer of compact and DSLR cameras does not seem to have decreased. The compact camera has matured and true innovations are over, while the digital SLR is conquering more and more market share. The Micro Four Thirds system camera manufactured by Panasonic and Olympus, is the new kid on the block. Whether more manufacturers will adopt the Micro Four Thirds system during the PMA International Convention and Trade Show, or whether they will come with their own 'Micro' system like Samsung, remains to be seen.